• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Girlfriend Got me an Xbox One S for Xmas... Kinda wish I'd ask for an iPad

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rainless

Old Member
xbox.jpg

(Kind of a long story... but if you've been around a while you guys know I'm a writer and long stories are kinda what I do...)

Ok... little bit of background here: I'd just moved to Berlin, Germany from Barcelona. I sold off my Xbox 360 and Kinect before coming because I didn't want to travel with two systems. (HUGE mistake.) So it was just me and my PS3 for the first year or so I was here.

And I was EXTREMELY poor once again. (Okay... "Poor" as in "I could live wherever the hell I wanted in the entire world... with my cat... and get by on next to nothing.")

So the Xbox One and Playstation 4 came out roughly around the same time just before Christmas.

I knew I couldn't come close to buying one of them. Didn't even particularly WANT either of them. (That last bit is important.)

All I wanted on earth was to be able to play the new Killer Instinct game. Neither the PS4 or Xbox One really HAD anything that anybody really wanted to play, in the beginning, besides that.

So... the following Christmas... after I'd moved in with GF#1... I decided to look around to see if maybe I could just rent an Xbox One for a weekend.

Just to purchase and play Killer Instinct. (Which you could play FOR FREE.) I figured a 20 or 30 buck rental wouldn't be enough to kill me.

Then I thought "Even better! What if I just buy a used one and RETURN IT?"

Just so happens I knew the manager of a Famous Videogame Retailer.