• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling your "back side".

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GuyNamedBob

Hi all,
I'm a mechanical engineer and new to over-clocking and water-cooling. As an engineer it is obvious to me that cooling both sides of a processor would remove much more heat. I'm curious if anybody has tried to mount a cooler (of any sort) to both the "chip side" and the "back side" of a motherboard or video card? Aside from possibly shorting the solder points on the back of the card are there any other hurtles or reasons why this shouldn't be attempted? Am I neglecting to take something into account? Has this been found to be too inefficient to bother with (I realize the chip does not rest right directly on the board and the PC board itself is not good at conducting heat)?

ciao...

Robert Mazurowski
Buffalo, NY

Last edited:
i was thinking about that just tonight...im building a case and might take that into consideration....but i'd be anxious to hear the answer the the question....

i suppose with the circuits possibly shorting out....it would be possible to use silicon or something as a barier...like silicon glue and let it harden then use a wb on top of that....

dragon orb 3 said:
i was thinking about that just tonight...im building a case and might take that into consideration....but i'd be anxious to hear the answer the the question....

i suppose with the circuits possibly shorting out....it would be possible to use silicon or something as a barier...like silicon glue and let it harden then use a wb on top of that....