• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Stuck @ 3.2ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Skel

Registered
Can anyone help me out! I'm new at overclocking. I recently bought a 2.4c, Abit IC7 Mobo, Kingston Hyper X 2x256, and Koolance EXOS. I'm currently Stuck at FSB 269 although at 275 I can boot to Win XP, but I cant run any benchmark. Here are my settings:

FSB - 269
Vcore - 1.675 registering @ 1.632 in CPUZ
Timing - Cas 2.0, Ras to Cas 3, Ras Precharge 3, Cycle Time 6
Mem Frequency - 215.3 Mhz
Mem Ratio - 5:4
Vdimm - max
AGP - max

This is the most stable setting i found so far. I tried everthing from upping vcore to playing with timings just so i can bench @ 275 FSB, but none worked. I'm guessing I hit a break wall...

You may actually be limited by your NB chip. The stock Abit cooler on the 875 chip sucks big time. Get a Thermaltake Tiger or mod a Zalmann chipset cooler.

Also, there is no reason for you to run VAGP at anything other than stock. That is not going to help your overclocking unless you plan to run our AGP bus higher than 66 MHz.

You might also be limited by your memory. Try to relax all your timings to one higher value and try again.

Drop your mem ratio to 3:2 and see what happens. Single out your problem area as much as possible. Also as was mentioned there's no need for max agp voltage in your case. It does help at extreme speeds because it's pumping more voltage through the northbridge interface, but you're not there yet.

I tried relaxing my timings and set my 3:2 prior to my first post and still @ 275 i wasnt able to bench. Suprisingingly I can boot to XP @ 275 using 1.6 vcore almost at stock. I think it might be my NB chipset. I'll play around with it and I'll keep you guys updated.