Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Windows XP + IE Trouble

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-03, 09:29 PM Thread Starter   #1
eus
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Windows XP + IE Trouble


Actually, I don't know if anyone will be able to help, but I haven't found any info on this yet...

I've re-installed XP quite a couple of time and each time I get a problem with IE and windows resizing... It seem that IE can't just record correctly how to open new windows... If I create a new windows with control-n (file-> new) it open correctly and maximised. When I start ie, it start maximised. But as soon as I click any link which open a 2nd windows, it open at about 95 % of the screen. Just enought to be really annoying when you wanna close the windows...

Anyone know how I could fix this up? I would really appreciate hehe

Karl
eus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-27-03, 11:08 PM   #2
phpguru
Member

 
phpguru's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: California

 
I've noticed this too. There isn't really a fix to my knowledge, it will soon fix itself.

phpguru
phpguru is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-28-03, 07:11 AM   #3
su root
Senior Member
--
I teach people how to read your email.

 
su root's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
I know IE remembers where it was when you close it (so if you close a maximised window, it should open maximised next time -- which seems to be working for you) Don't know why new windows would do that though.. inherant flaw?

I've moved on from the horror that was IE.. tabbed browsing has completely removed the need to resize new windows If your bored with IE, you should check out the browsers sticky. I really like Firebird.

__________________
"Some people, when confronted with a problem, think 'I know, Ill use regular expressions.' Now they have two problems."
su root is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-28-03, 01:26 PM   #4
Wedo
Senior Kitty Power!

 
Wedo's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lost Angeles

 
Cheers to su root. With the tabbed browsing option in Firebird there's no need to open numerous windows ever again. The Firebird browser has some nifty features you can add on and it doesn't load any of the spyware that IE sucks in.

Wedo

__________________
~ Folding for Sharon, Joy, Kathy, Cathy, Nancy, Peanut, and so many others ~[/size]
Wedo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-03, 05:40 AM Thread Starter   #5
eus
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
I already have firebird... But I dunno, I must admit that's the only product I use from m$ (except windows of course)

As for tabblet browsing, I just don't feel confortable with it... At least I know I'm not alone with that trouble...

As you said, su root, it does remmember setting for normal windows but it don't for new windows through a script... So maybe it's some known flaw... But why haven't they fixed this in almost 2 year?
eus is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?