• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is this kind of lag normal?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Spector_306

Registered
Well, i've been using Linux for quite a while, about a year, so I'm not a newbie; feel free to fling all the linux knowledge you can at me and if I need help, i'll ask. :D :cool:

The lag I refered to in the title is some serious stuff. It happens when i'm copying a file or doing something CPU and disk IO intesive. My machine 'locks up', by that I mean its totally frozen. Nothing will respond, press num lock and the light won't even change. However, about 2 to 20 seconds later it will spring back into life and be totally normal. Sometimes it lags differently, small amount of lag that causes me to not be able to work at all. Its like the machine does the 'locking up' but its only for about .40 of a second with half a second in between. Its all really annoying when listening to music.

Some things I have noticed about it:
*The lag is different in kernel 2.6, however it is still there and quite strong.
*It only happens when my memory is full (I understand linux caches all the file movements)
*It lags even if I am copying over the network at 2.2 MB/s
*Its not my computer hardware, as the lag is not there in windows.

Has anyone ever delt with lag this serious before? If so, how do I get rid of it (or am I stuck). If not, do I get to name it? I wanna call it spec-lag or something like that. :p

BTW- here are sys specs.
*(cat /proc/version):
Linux version 2.4.21 (root@debian) (gcc version 3.3.2 20030831 (Debian prerelease)) #1 Mon Sep 15 17:01:48 PDT 2003
*I am using a fully updated Debian SID
*I have 768 MB of RAM, and a 1.6a @ 2.2 GHZ.

if you need to know anything else, just post what it is. I hope I can get this problem fixed.