• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

K6-2 400 overclocking info needed. I'm a Newbie, sorry!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Thecavkid

Hi,
I'm on a tight budget and was wondering if n e 1 could help...
I have a k6-2 400Mhz processor that I want to overclock to 550Mhz.

To do this I propose to to fit a GlobalWin FDP32 Heatsink/Fan (which I am assured fits sockect 7s despite being designed for socket370) with Artic Silver 2 paste. This little lot should come to £25ish and from my research on the web should allow me to run the speed I want.

Is this right? Or do i need more serious cooling??
My case temp is very low due to two 120mm fans in a push/pull arrangement built into front+top of case.

Any help would be appreciated as everyone else seems to be overclocking newer computers!

Thanx
Mark

the k6's are very hard chips to overclock as they run so hot, most people only get 50mhz or so, if your willing to go the expense of some good cooling, so a couple of intake and exhaust fans plus a good hs/f then you may get up to 100mhz but it is not certain. I would save you money for if you buy a new system

Thanx, I just posted another bit to the same effect above.
Ahh well, just guess I'll have to look at me finances,
thanx for the (extremely!) prompt reply!
Mark

i got 400@475(4.5*105 2.6v) on gigabyte ga-5aa mobo
er.... it did get hot...but it was VERY stable
but i use my own cooling systems...
the total didn't cost me more than 10$
:O)
if u r interested i can give u detals on the cooling system with pics.
but i'm currently running 400@460(4*115 2.4v) .. this setting is MUCH FASTER, SMOOTHER and COOLER than the one above.....
thanx