• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Why the Thermaltake SF2?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

blkgti

I'm new to the Cooling forum and I see the SF2 recommended here over other alternatives. Having tried the SF2, along with other fans, I don't think it's a very impressive product. Not that it ultimately doesn't cool well; it does, but that comes at a relatively high cost with respect to the annoyingly high-pitched "whiney" noise generated by the fan at high speed. Nor do I think that its CFM rating is realistic, as I experienced no change in load temps after I switched to the much quieter Panaflo U1A. A Tornado lowered my temps a bit over the U1A and the SF2, so it's not as if my SLK-900a couldn't benefit from greater airflow. I guess I'm puzzled as to why the SF2 seems to be the fan of choice for many forum participants.

Probably because you can configure it three diff. ways, out
of the box. It has its own rheostat switch. Run it with the
temp probe. Or full thru a controller or not.Sometimes to much
air is counter productive.Are all of these fans you are reffering
to 80mm fans? THE FANMAN:cool:

yea its just that it fits the most number of "good things", it comes adjustable, with a thermal probe, and does push a good amount of air. Its also pretty quiet when turned down. I have 3 of these in my case..... and i don't hear the "whiney" noise you are talking about.

The whiney noise is usually due to the fan grill. Once removed, the fan does quiet down a little.

To me the main selling point is that its a very good product for $10!

Also a good idea to cut out the metal fan grids on case.This
is were most of the noise comes from.I call them restricter
grids.Cut them out,less noise/ more air.WIN/WIN.:D
THE FANMAN:cool:

archilochus said: