• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Has NE1 else had problems with Postal2 STP and ATI cards?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Pntgrd

I am new to ATI and I have a 9800Pro runnig the latest Omega's. I keep having problems running the latest Postal2. I keep getting booted back to the desktop with a GPF error. I have tried all kinds of different settings in the driver and the game but nothing helps. The boot can be anywhere from 2 minutes to 20 minutes. I thought I had it cured when I swithched to OpenGL but it happened again last night. I have no problems running anything else. Card is not o/c'd, running DX9.b. I am in the last levels of Friday and will put up with it if I have to, but it is irritating. I have been able to find no answer on the game company site, so I come to the experts

Well, I got around the problem. I tried what RWS's website said and disabled my antivirus and reinstalled the game. All drivers are up-to-date. Used the ingame Performance Wizard to get the settings right. Started the game and played just over 20 minutes. You guessed it, crashed again. Then I cured it. I installed the game on my Video machine that has a TI4600. Played for over 1 1/2 hours without a hiccup. I guess I will finish Postal2 there. I hope this is not a sign of things to expect from my forray into ATI.