• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1.4 P4 Willamette

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zandahr

Registered
I'm new in overclocking and I want to know ways to overclock my P4 Willamette CPU. Only boosted it from 1.3 to 1.4 using BIOS. Are there easy ways to overclock safely without buying/changing hardware?

According to the CPU database 1.6 is realistic average for your chip assuming that the rest of your hardware is not bottlenecking you system. But the Willy p4 by far is not great, it is worth it to upgrade IMHO if you are looking to see any kind of improvement. A 1.4 willy is close to a 1GHz P3 so it is not saying much.

Do you have anymore spect on your system?

edit:

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS

Oops last post was only CPU. Here are my motheboard specs.

Attachments

• specs2.jpg
    specs2.jpg
    32.1 KB · Views: 100
Ok you have a good motherboard made by asus

Desinger spects here what your going to have to do is get into the bios and you do that by hitting del key on your keyboard when your computer makes the Power On Self Test Beep, or the POST beep. When you hit this key it brings you to a screen that is usally blue and it has several options in it. Usally on standerd BIOS'es the one you are looking for is the Frequency and Voltage control option you will go into that and then you should see somthing regarding Front side bus or as us OC'ers refer to as FSB for short. Because the Multipliers are locked on intel chips the only way to OC them is to raise the FSB this is usally done in 1MHz increments. You raise the FSB slowly untill your computer is not stable then you raise the voltage a little bit to see if that makes the processor stable, most likely if the processor it the bottle neck then that will fix the problem however if it does not then there might be another issue to address.