• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Here's a fun one! :) Travan tape drive.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

White Star

I'd like to get this old Travan tape drive running in my pooter here if that's at all possible. Right now I'm using Gentoo Linux, kernel version 2.4.22. How old is this Travan tape drive? Well it came with it's own controller, which is an IDE Floppy controller, even says sone on the card itself. It's an old ISA card using only the 8 bit section of the ISA slot. Can't seem to figure out how to start it up. If anyone's got any ideas, I'm open. :)

Thanks in advance.

I'm sorry, but your drive is fully supported in both the 2.4 and 2.6 kernels. ;)
In 2.4 it's under Character devices -> Ftape... and in 2.6 it's under Device Drivers -> Character devices -> Ftape.... I have no experience using an ftape drive, but TFM is here.

Yup. Looks like my problem could be that I might not have support for my ISA bus. I'm checking into that now. Thanks for your input. :)

The Travan Tape Drives were an IDE based device and do not require a special controller. The interface is not a DMA or UDMA device but, merely a standard IDE device. You should be able to connect it to an empty IDE port if you have one available. The company I work for used to use these types of drives in boxes that they called "servers", but in reality they were a white box workstation machine masquerading as servers.

Anyway to the bottom line it should work on any IDE interface. The most common was the TR-4. The capacity was 4GB native and 8GB compressed. They also were not very fast.

Good luck.