• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC and SMP v1rgin (HELP!)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OCMunkee

hey, im new to both OCing and SMP (ive only had a crappy Toshiba laptop till recently), and i need general and OCing help with two diff. systems, any help is greatly appreciated :D (just i cant buy a lot of stuff, im only 15 so my budget's kinda limited)

SMP Setup (Work In Progress:p)
Motherboard: Dell PowerEdge 2400 (dual slot 1 500-933 PIII)
Memory: 512mb (2x256mb) PC133 CL3 ECC SDRAM

I was wondering which CPU would be best for the Dell mobo i.e. do all slot-1/370-adapted 500-933 P3's work in SMP? or do i need to look for certain ones? also if anyone knows if a PII 450 would run in it (because i already have one).

Main Setup
CPU: P4 2.4Ghz (533FSB)
Mobo: Intel D850EMV2
RAM: 512mb (2x256) Kingston PC800 RDRAM
HDD: 80GB 7200rpm
GFX: PowerColor Radeon 9200SE

thanks,
--OCMunkee

try the p2 if it works it will boot. the p2 wont require a lower voltage than a p3 so its shouldnt get fried. if it works it will boot.
posible that dell disabled the p2 type cpus in the bios but id try it.
What is the chip set, a bx or gx or more recent? (i think the 820 and 840 were For sockets only but never used one.)
The only reason i can see that slokets (slot to socket adapters) would not work is if there was insufficent space to mount colling solutions on top of the chips.

edited for clarity.

Last edited:
OCMunkee said:
do all slot-1/370-adapted 500-933 P3's work in SMP? or do i need to look for certain ones?