• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

K7D PCI LAN Problem, Stable System until file transfers

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rxtrom

I have a K7D master non L and a Intel PCI lan card, my system is @ 16x150, and is prime stable all day and night.
Now my problem is when i try to transfer files over the network, AND run something else, like 3dmark, or Prime95. the system just stops responding and freezes, ctrl ald del does not even work. The files are being transfered to a secondary drive that is not in use. (the drive is fine)
I also have a LSIu160 in the 64 slot, but problem persisted even after i removed this.

The lan card is an intel lan and it is 32 bit, i also tried another card and it did the same thing.
Please Help me this is frustrating!!!:mad:

--ROB
P.S i have the bios 1.9

Yes! it still crashes, Is it my board, or the LAN should i get a lan that can handle the PCI increase?

I am allready using a PS/2 mouse
About my precious Question before though
Is it the LAN or my K7D Do i need to get a lan that can handle the PCI increase?

The first thing I would try is a totally different brand NIC card. They are very cheap. But have you checked for any device conflicts?

rxtrom said:
Is it the LAN or my K7D Do i need to get a lan that can handle the PCI increase?

You just said it still crashes even if you reduce your fsb. So It's not the pci speed being to high to allow stability. Your LAN doesn't care about the bus speed of one machine.
I'm thinking more of a bad card now.
A bad mobo will USUALLY cause problems in multiple configurations.

OK i will try a different card, I lowered the FSB to 133 and it was fine, but that is not where i want my FSB, so i uped it to 140 and it was still ok, but at 150 it SUCKS, i will try a different LAN card then