• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Network problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ir0nman

I have Fedora 2 installed on my laptop, and on friday I upgraded to the 2.6.6 kernal, and now Linux doesn't want to pick up my NIC. It was working fine in the previous kernel. Is there just something I need to reinstall? I'm a still a real noob at this...lol so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Ir0nman

Did you possibly forget to compile in support for your NIC in the kerenel?

I would double check that first.

It is a xircom NIC, I didn't get to do any compiling, Fedora's up2date did the whole thing, I thought I would get a list of things that I would have to enable, but I got no such list, it just did it's thing, and I rebooted, unfortunately without any support for my NIC apparently.
Thanks for all the replies already,
Ir0nman

P.S. It's a Xircom RE-100 NIC, it was working awesomely with the 2.6.5 kernal before Fedora upgraded.

Well, in the short term, you can always switch back to the other kernel. up2date doesn't delete it. In fact, in my red hat install, it just added a menu option for it and left the old one there too.

You might need to load a module for it. I don't know what the name of the module for that card is. Try typing "lsmod" and see if a network card module comes up. If not, try modprobe and the name of the correct module for your card. It may just not be loading the module at boot time.

If support for the card is neither built in nor modularized, then you'll have to rebuild your kernel with support for it.

ok, I will take a better look at it today, thanks for all the help so far guys..... one day I may be l33t lol
Ir0nman

you may become 1337 quicker if you learn how to spell it right ;). and theres nothing like actually using linux to get good at it.