• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which 939 NF4 mobo is best?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

<<Spider>>

Actually this is a 2 part question. First, which 939 chip is best? 939 Winchester is 90nm and Newcastles are 130nm. Winchester runs cooler so I'm sure to go with the Winchester, however, I need to know which is Winchester is better for overclocking. 3000 or 3200, etc. It seems the 3000 is best bang for buck but I have no experience with the Winchester and need some sugestions.

Now that the new NF4s are out, I think it's time for me to jump to the athlon 64. 2nd question, which NF4 mobo?

I don't care too much about the SLI option (2 video card) but want the SATA2 (3 Gb/sec) so I'm thinking about the NF4 Ultra. The SLI mobos are over $250 when the Ultra is only around $130. The only NF4 Ultra mobo that I know of is the Chaintech one. Is there any other one? DFI is coming out with a NF4 mobo but I believe that is a SLI so I'm sure that one will be over $250. Any sugestions?

The only board I know of is the chaintech as well, but it doesnt seem like a bad one. As for cpu's, unless you are going for the ubermax overclock, just buy to your budget and spend the rest on a good video card.

i'd wait for the DFI board, should be out later this month
BTW SLI boards can be had for about 220$ right now

Hi, I second the "DFI" option coz thats what I am waiting for and please note MODERATORS there should be a dedicated Sticky for DFI and 939 overclocking!!!!!!!!

The DFI is to be released in 5 options - dont quote me!!
And the Winchester 3200 is "the BEST" Overclocking AMD cpu arround and I have seen cpu-z scores with AIR 2.6+, Water 2.75 & Extreme cooling 3.3+G with high HTT's to boot LOL

Regards