• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC a P4 2.8 Smithfield EM64T.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MmCheeto

Has anyone OCed P4 2.8 Smithfield EM64T? If so . Did you get much out of it? What are the stats? Im asking cause Im very new to OCing and im fealing out what I need to do before I start cooking anything. Anyone with advice welcome. Thanks in advance

I personally have not. I'm just curious why you asked the question here instead of in the Intel CPUs section where it belongs (and where it will likely get seen more by people who are more likely to respond).

Well I take it your talking about the Pentium D 820. They OC very well, but a good cooling solution is required to reach a high OC. Again these suckers generate alot of HEAT! In the Intel CPU sections ypu'll find a good deal of info on this topic. Do a search.

Yup I have been wearing out the search function. In fact I have been searching on this subject for the last 10hrs to prep for my overclock. Thanks for the info.

PS: I understand this is not a catch all. As I did understand that before I posted. I consider my question a quite valad one for this section seeing as how new the chip is. I assumed there would be a few enthusiastic posts about overclocking this chipset or another Smithfield close to it. If this is considerd a problem for this thread to be here . I will Kindly ask a Mod to please move it. Thank you.

Dang, you got raked over the coals. Ouch. But yeah, this post was specifically about an Intel CPU, so I would think it probably should of been in the Intel section too. Live and learn, now you know.

The dual cores don't have quite as high overclocks as the 6XX series P-4's, but if you adequately address the cooling issues, a 820 Pentium D will generally do 3.8 gig or so. A few have hit 4 gig.

Gnufsh said: