Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Raptor 10k - Wierd Problem, (graph inside)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-06, 07:14 PM Thread Starter   #1
DeepSky
Member

 
DeepSky's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jax, FL

 
Raptor 10k - Wierd Problem, (graph inside)


Ok. So over christmas break i went home from school and i left my computer on campus. For christmas i got a new Raptor 37gb 10k RPM SATA drive. I get back to campus and my computer won't turn on, then it won't boot to windows. It worked fine before i left, but w/e i had to reformat for this new HD anyway.

So i install the new HD and go to play Counter Strike Source. During the game i get HUGE spikes where the graphics will just stutter ONCE, not multiple stutters. I thought oh well, Valve is just messin up (my friend tried to play on my machine and was like how the hell do you play with these jerks/pauses).

So today i load the second game i've tried to play on the new harddrive (i also got a new case for christmas and moved my computer to the new case), Call of Duty 2. I load it up and i get the same goddamn jerks/pauses. I'm pretty sure its either my memory or my hard drive (i had a stick of OC'ed memory crap out not a month ago, Jerks were there before and after i took it out, but at least windows booted).

Anyway i benchmarked my hard drive and it gave the following graph. Looked strange to me so i benchmarked my other IDE slow HD's they ran alot slower of course but also had the huge spikes that hit rock bottom.

Is this normal? Do you guys think its RAM or my new HD? Any advice?




Please no comments concerning actual HD speeds, i'm not concerned whether its running as fast as it should. Thanks.
DeepSky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-06, 08:19 PM   #2
maxxoverclocker
Member

 
maxxoverclocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vista, CA

 
you got the right drivers? because one of my friends had the same problem and it also took forever to install things. turns out the drivers never got installed and once they did the system worked great.
maxxoverclocker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-06, 06:00 PM Thread Starter   #3
DeepSky
Member

 
DeepSky's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jax, FL

 
Yeah, i had to have the drivers (from Asus' website) to install windows..

Is it normal for any hard drive to dive to 0 like that though?
DeepSky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-06, 09:29 PM Thread Starter   #4
DeepSky
Member

 
DeepSky's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jax, FL

 
UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE!

I just today finnaly got tired of the jerky ups and downs i noticed in CS:S and over time i realized i got the same jerky pauses with even simple flash and java web games. So i popped in a 4700rpm WD and installed windows and CS:S and BAM everything is flawless again (granted with the raptor i loaded the next map about 10 seconds before the second person loaded it and 20 seconds before most poeople loaded it and now i'm lucky if i'm the 15th person in the server) BUT at least my game isn't constantly spazzing out. Also every visual in winamp and web games no longer have the jerky pause either. Furthermore my HDD Speed test graph is level...sooo wow...yeah i paid a ****load for that HDD, hopefully it was only being ****ty because i have an old motherboard...anyway just thought i'd let you guys know it wasn't my RAM at all.
DeepSky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-06, 09:51 PM   #5
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah, my money is on the SATA drivers. Not sure why it would do that, but that's the first thing I can think of. Have you given up?

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX460 768mb
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-10-06, 10:05 AM Thread Starter   #6
DeepSky
Member

 
DeepSky's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jax, FL

 
Yeah i've given up for now...I'll just deal with not being the first one in the game, or installing programs at 1/3 the speed. I plan on getting a Pentium Machine this summer and i'll look for a good mobo. Hopefully it was just the drivers. I mean afterall when my mobo came out only the Deluxe version even had SATA.
DeepSky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-10-06, 12:20 PM   #7
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
Could be the cable as well. You try a different sata cable?

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?