Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Maximum Safe temperature for AMD Opteron 180?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-06, 02:42 AM Thread Starter   #1
tricknasty

 
tricknasty's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles

 
Exclamation Maximum Safe temperature for AMD Opteron 180?


My computer is in my sig, i run it 24/7 and my room gets pretty damn hot with summer around the corner. idle sticks at around 54C. when im playing bf2 it hits 60-61.

I just used SP2004 and ran 2 at the same time, because of my dual core. my temps rocketed to 65, then hit 66 and thats when i shut the programs down. I had a ton of fans going on it and tried to keep it as cool as i could. I plan on keeping this cpu for hopefully 2 years.
Am i going to pwn this processor by running 66 C full load or more?

__________________
i7 970 IFX-14 hsf
Lian-Li PC-7077B/EVGA 3X Classified
6gb OCZ/120gb OCZ SSD/ HD 6970
30" Dell /1250W Coolermaster PSU/Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers
tricknasty is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-06, 05:01 AM   #2
dropadrop
Member

 
dropadrop's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland

10 Year Badge
 
There is an application which will tell you the thermal limit of your cpu (as set by AMD). It varies from one processor to the next. Personally I'm not comfortable with temps going alot over 60 when I run two instances of Prime95 (affinity set per core).
dropadrop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-06, 05:52 AM   #3
]-[itman
Member

 
]-[itman's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
That would be way too hot for me. I personally set my goals at 50C or preferably less, though many will be comfortable with mid 50's. I don't think very many at all would be comfortable with those temps though. If you need help getting temps down, plenty of ppl around to help.

__________________
Hungry college student, will fold for food!
]-[itman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-06, 09:47 AM   #4
rseven
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
Yes, I agree with ]-[itman. 60 degrees in a dual core CPU is very high and at the price of a 180 I would not be risking it. Even my 144, which can handle higher temps, is set in my bios to shut down at 60 degrees.
rseven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-06, 01:13 PM   #5
dropadrop
Member

 
dropadrop's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland

10 Year Badge
 
I don't think this is really a matter of taste. As far as I've understood, the max case temp for opterons is generally 69-70C. I'm fairly sure AMD won't release specifics like this if there is a possibility it will kill the processor...

The key is ofcourse generating so much heat while testing, that you know temps will NEVER go higher.
dropadrop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-06, 03:29 PM   #6
rseven
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
In the first place, the maximum case temp on a 180 is 65 degrees. Secondly, it is not a good idea to operate a CPU for an extended time near that temp. See AMD for documentaion of max temps here.
http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/opte...n=OSA180DAA6CD
rseven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-06, 12:47 AM   #7
dropadrop
Member

 
dropadrop's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland

10 Year Badge
 
But the question is not about operating it for a long time near that frequency. The way I have done (which people find scary...) is to generate as much heat as possiible (dual prime for me as I don't game, otherwise I'd add 3dmark on top of the primes), and see how high the temps go.

In my case temps reach 60 under full load (9*250 with 1.2vcore). Ofcourse normally I don't have any load, and my processor is at 4*250 (with 1.1vcore if I remember correctly).

The point being, I know how hot my rig goes, and it will never pass the guide value set by Amd.

Ofcourse the guy who started this thread has had a differant approach, as he has just tested with some game. I find that to be very hazardous, as he is probably still up to 10C lower then the max temp his system could reach.

So my advice would be to run two instances of prime95 and 3dmark for a while and see how high temps go. I would also advice backing down on your overclock BEFORE starting the test since temps will probably rise higher then you had them before. Make sure there is no way to pass the highest specified temp for your processor (65C in this case) and leave it at that.

I would love to run my processor higher then 2.25GHZ (it hit's 2.6 at stock vcore), but I have to make a choice between loud cooling or slow speeds.
dropadrop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-06, 12:54 AM   #8
InfiniteThought
Member

 
InfiniteThought's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Davis, CA

 
60C seems way hot to me. What temperature is your ambient?

I suspect something is either wrong with your cooling or wrong with the temperature sensor.

My CPU never goes above 42C.
InfiniteThought is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-06, 02:55 AM   #9
perithimus
Member

 
perithimus's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lynnwood, wa

 
what voltage are you running it at? I see you got a big typhoon. That thing should be cooling your chip pretty well.

__________________
Intel i5 2500k cooled by a Corsair H80i
MSI z77a-G45
8gb gskill rippers DDR3 1600
PNY GTX670 2gb
60gb ocx vertex 2 ssd
640gb wd sata
Auzentech Xi fi forte sound card
Corsair AX850 PSU

Heat...http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=30929
perithimus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-06, 05:27 AM   #10
dropadrop
Member

 
dropadrop's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland

10 Year Badge
 
I still don't find it strange at all.. I have a big typhoon and my processor runs hot... (though I have a silent computer)
dropadrop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-06, 04:17 AM Thread Starter   #11
tricknasty

 
tricknasty's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles

 
yea i turned my cpu clock down to 2.5 ghz and i still get temps that hit 60+ under load. I think im gonna water cool it or try to find a good looking chiller, i want to have it clocked high, but the big typhoon just wont do it.

__________________
i7 970 IFX-14 hsf
Lian-Li PC-7077B/EVGA 3X Classified
6gb OCZ/120gb OCZ SSD/ HD 6970
30" Dell /1250W Coolermaster PSU/Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers
tricknasty is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-06, 04:36 AM   #12
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
It's possible you just didn't seat the heatsink very well or apply the thermalpaste correctly.

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-06, 06:22 AM   #13
bobthemoo
Member

 
bobthemoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England

 
wow. you need a new heatsink and fan, bigtime. dont mean to rub it in, but i managed to get 25C with my 4000 with the fx-60 im on atm it idles at 52C and gets to like 55C at load

__________________
E6850
2GB DDR2 Crucial RAM
Maxtor 200GB HD x2, Samsung 80GB HD
PNY 8800GTS 640Mb
Seasonic S-12 600w PSU


And my baby (Macbook)
bobthemoo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-06, 09:20 AM   #14
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by vixro
It's possible you just didn't seat the heatsink very well or apply the thermalpaste correctly.
You should definitly try to reseat this HSF. I don't think its on there, even for a stock heatsink that is extremely high.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-06, 09:53 AM   #15
bldegle2
Member

 
bldegle2's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Floyd, VA

10 Year Badge
 
agreed, proper heatsink attachment is paramount with the Big Typhoon.....

when you elevate the case to upright, the force of the heatsink weight w/fannage, if not properly attached flat and very snug, will cause slight improper contact and higher temps.

reattach the heatsink, double check the thermal compound, and pay particular attention to have equal tension on both screwdowns.

i think you will find a dramatic drop in temps when done right.

i am using one now, idling @23/24*c, it climbs to around 30*c when it gets into the heat of the day......

baldy

__________________
smoke and mirrors, but of course.

AsRock 970 Extreme4, 1090T BE @4.31gig, 16gig Gskill Ripjaws X DDR3 1866, 2 x 4770's xfire, pelt chilled water setup...
bldegle2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?