• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Linux Distro for networking pro's?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JenBell

Hello People,

So I am like a total noobe when it comes to linux and stuff. Can someone please tell me what linux or unix distro has all the network security tools already built-in?

Also, the distro must have a 'live' version.

I am looking to do wireless network surveys, penertration testing and general network security checks.

Any help is welcomed with er...er....thank u?

I used redhat, ubuntu and knoppix and some other one but they dont have the tools I was looking for.

I know I can dowload and install all the apps manually but I am trying to find a distro that has everything already integrated.

Thank u for ur advice.

Since you don't know anything about the OS you want to use, how can you do any sort of penetration testing and security checking?

Hello Menace...

OOOO....thank u for the links. I will have a look at them.

What side of the river? Er...u could potentially find me in Westminster, London Bridge or Bond Street during the week....like rest of the 'city' people:)

Dont worry babes, if you use the Jubilee line I am sure you have seen me. I am the one who had looked confused, tired, underpaid (I think) and way under...how do u say a word that means no one pays attention to you unless its based on sex?

Kiln...I was not born with knowledge that I have now, like everyone else, I learn or will learn. Linux is an OS. If it was that hard to learn then no 1 would use it right? Oh...and u sound so negative...u a linux fanboy? U sound so sexist...anyways...not one to start screaming...I am sure ur a nice person...right? (that was not a trick question;-)

Last edited: