• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Suggest the rest

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

boris_37

Okay i'm picking out parts for my conroe now. I picked out an E6400 i guess since it's the best deal i'm gonna get in canada.

I have a fortron 500w Blue Storm power supply as my other piece.

I pretty much need a suggestion for Case, Mobo, Ram, and Vid card(for mild-good OC) that doesn't bust my wallet. Although i'm not too concerned about price i don't want to spend too much i'm not a hardcore gamer but i hope to play some of the more recent games coming out.

all of this will be coming from http://www.memoryexpress.com as they are probably one of the best in canada and are local :D. So suggest away, i'm new to intel and i really have no clue about video cards.

oh and onboard sound isn't important as i have a sound card to throw in.

and i was looking to some mushkin ram unless someone has a better suggestion :S

The motherboard depends on your budget. I find that the Gigabyte 965P-DS3 is a fine board and overclocks the Allendales (Core 2 - 2MB Cache) best. I have moved from ASUS because of startup/shutdown issues that I have found to be prevalent on both AMD and Intel platforms. It is nice to choose restart and actually have the machine do a restart. Highly clocked ASUS boards are often unable to restart and one must choose shutdown and manually turn the system back on.

I have found the Corsair to be fine dram and along with the lifetime warranty I have used the online RMA process a few times with excellent results. Keep in mind that good 667MHz dram can make the 800MHz grade with some able to make even higher with a bit of extra Vdimm.

I have taken this dram:

http://www.memoryexpress.com/index....dProductDetail.php&DisplayProductID=8741&SID=