• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Soltek SL-75DRV2

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tumbler 00

Registered
Newbie here,any opinions about this board,(Soltek SL-75DRV2)? Im going to do my first build, and was looking at the Epox EP-8KHA+,unfortunately also 350W Enermax psu,so i don't want to go there.Also considering a MSI-K7266PRO2, hoping for some O.C. options but need 1st build stability.

Looking at either a 1.4 t-bird or a 1600X.P.,Great forum by the way.Thanxs

Tumbler 00 said:
Newbie here,any opinions about this board,(Soltek SL-75DRV2)? Im going to do my first build, and was looking at the Epox EP-8KHA+,unfortunately also 350W Enermax psu,so i don't want to go there.Also considering a MSI-K7266PRO2, hoping for some O.C. options but need 1st build stability.

Looking at either a 1.4 t-bird or a 1600X.P.,Great forum by the way.Thanxs
First, the obligatory "welcome to the forums" ...
Second, The Soltek board is pretty new and I haven't heard of anyone actually owning one yet, but the reviews say the board is pretty solid and stable. Personally, I think you would be fine with any VIA KT266A board that has been out long enough so that BIOS's have had time to mature. Performance and stability for all the KT266A boards are all so close as to be negligible. Other than that, pick only the options you want to pay for, and then make sure to flash your BIOS with the latest version and you should be safe.

As far as processors go, spend a little more on an Athlon XP. They run a little cooler and have better performance. Last I checked, the XP1600+ was only $6 more than the T-bird 1.4.

Thanks,I think i will get the Soltek-75DRV2.I've read some complaints about the 75DRV but i think it would be the KT266 chipset opposed to KT266a in this one.Also think i will go with the XP-1600.