• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help & advice on overclocking.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mat.knott

Registered
Hi, thanks for looking at my post. Im new to this forum and so if this is in the wrong place or i have broken any rules im sorry.

I have had my system a few years now and when got it was a top pc, sadly tho times have changed and i am now looking to increase its preformance via overclocking it... something i have never done before and have no clue where to even start!

my setup consists of....

Abit IC7 motherboard (bios upgraded to last official release - not beta)
Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 3ghz
1GB corsair CMX512-3700 ram - 2x 512 sticks (its ddr 466 ram but only ever runs at ddr 400, not sure why)
heat has never been a problem for my system as have it all in a arctic cooling rig using a freezer 4 heatsink. when ever i touch the heatsink on cpu its always cold.

not sure what it means by my ram is running 3-4-4-7 if that makes any sence

what i would like to know is what i could overclock my rig to and what settings i would need to set in softmenu.

i had a little dab at it before posting this and increased the fsb and got a inproved speed from my cpu, but not sure if i need to do anything else ect so have put it back to stock and thought i would be best to ask before i fry my pc :D

thanks in advanced

Welcome to the forums!

To be sure your temps are good, download and run a program called speedfan , touching the heatsink isnt always accurate.

3-4-4-7 are your timings, the lower the number, the better the performance basically. But if its too low it could cause problems, and if its too high, performance will degrade. Try OCing that ram 5 mhz at a time until it dosent post.