• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Satellite Internet In Iraq, need pre-planning/setup help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Max47

Hey everyone, first off i want to thank anyone that can provide useful and accurate information on the subject matter.

I will start with the situation. I am a soldier in the US army currently serving, in Baghdad Iraq. Me and sevral other people that live in my building are looking for alternative solutions for internet. We currenty have a provider giving us roughly 56kbps at $50 a month with a shady connection at peak times.

There are some things I need to know prior to ordering anything. First off I'm trying to gather all the knowledge I can about actually setting up the service. Over here there will not be any on site tech support. I have someone in commo that can point the dish in the right direction so that shouldnt be a problem. But other than actually setting it up there are sevral things I am not familiar with such as a 20:1 ratio vs 10:1 ratio, I am assuming that a 10:1 is better since it is more expensive at even lower download and upload rates. Also I have been looking at a 2 services, iDirect and Linkstar. Thier services are provided in the links. But I am unsure what each one will do for me, the "ratio's" and if the rated bandwidth is divided among the # of users on the system, and "dedicated bandwidth 1:1 CIR on request" I haven't the first clue as to what that really means or how it affects the service.