• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some tips

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Keving

Hi all,

This is my first time at this O/C site and I really like it. I would like to OverClock my system too, however, Iam not sure whether my system is suitable or not. Here is my system specs:

ECS KTVTA3 266mhz FSB AWARD BIOS
Via Chipset ( unfortunately)
1.4ghz Athlon
64MB Geforce2 MX/200
SoundBlaster Live
650DDR pc2100
30GB ATA/100 Barracula
CDRW+DVD

I know how to unlock the mulplitier and increase the voltage,FSB just dont know what the max speed I can get out of this spec w/o hurting my system.
Please give me some suggestions.

thanks,
K

Welcome tot he FORUM!

Let me start out by saying 2 things. I don't know this boards stats and that I am not an overclocking genious.

If you ahven't done so read the guides on the frontpage on overclocking they will tell you alot about overclocking.

Second find that montherboard manual.

READ it ALOT. You don't have to memorize it, but it helps to know what the board is capable of. It being a ECS board I doubt it has much in the way of overclocking features. If it is like the K7S5A then you'll only have the FSB to overclock by. Yes it will run some of the system out of spec, but from what I have heard some motherboards ahve a PCI divisor that helps keep the system running at least tolerable levels. AS I SIAD read that manual, it "should" tell you what you need to know once you start tinkering.