• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Firewall Network access rules

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Duner

Firewall Network access rules SOLVED

Ok, a total noob here needing some help again with setting up access rules for our firewall.

The background is this. We're in an office and some of our staff are using the computers inappropriately. Yes, I was surprised to here this too:rolleyes:. They really only need access to 1 site so I though it would be easy to setup.

We have a Sonicwall TZ170.

In the access rules, I had set up 2 rules.
1) allow access to this 1 site.
2) deny access to the WAN

In the access rules table, the allow rule is above the deny rule so I though it would have priority and allow access to that 1 site while denying all other WAN access. I was wrong.

Help is appreciated.

Last edited:
What happens when you have that rule set up; is all traffic allowed or denied? Are you trying to resolve the site by name or by IP address, and does the Sonicwall know how to resolve those address (e.g. is DNS set up in the device)? If you could post a screenshot as well that would be appreciated.

Couldn't you set it up so it denies access to * and make an exception to allow whatever sites you want? I have no experience with a Sonic Wall except how to identify one (our product doesn't play nice with them).

Couldn't you set it up so it denies access to * and make an exception to allow whatever sites you want? I have no experience with a Sonic Wall except how to identify one (our product doesn't play nice with them).