• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Q6600 cpu and p5q se/r optimal settings.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kuraiholy

I keep running into an error(below) and heard that it could be related to BIOS settings. I have everything my board as AUTO and need to find out what to set for...apt settings. I dont' really need to overclock per se, just looking for stability.

Processor: Q6600
Motherboard: P5Q SE/R

I'm not really sure what all to put as I'm fairly new to this. But if any more information is needed, let me know.

Error:
A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Excepion
Error Type: Bus/Interconnect Error
Processor ID:0

The Processor ID ranges from 0 to 3,

Check for memory related errors w/ Memtest86+. And you might also want to post a direct link to your specific RAM (showing SPD timings and default DRAM voltage), or at least post pic's of the SPD and Memory tabs in CPU-Z.

Well. I've tested each stick of ram seperately in the box and in different bays and still getting the errors. I'll run a thorough test with some diag programs I have tomorrow when I can get it from work.

actually I didn't use memtest, I just took all ram out, put one ram in a random slot, booted, and recreated the error. Happened for all 4 sticks.

I googled the error I posted and it seemed to be a problem with voltage. I actually found the post on this site. Here's the link:

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=605883

I just didn't really comprehend what he did to fix the issue.

Your problem sounds like your ram isn't getting enough voltage. Check and see what the recommended voltage is. Figure between 1.8V and 2.1V. Try upping just your ram and make sure that it isn't too far overclocked.

More details would help as well.