• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Making a ubuntu web server

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dapman02

So I have been wanting to do this for a while, but I really want to host my own website. This is my first time really doing it and I have no idea what I'm doing
I installed apache in ubuntu, but I don't know where to go from here.

So if you are wanting to just serve up a static page then create a html file and place it in /var/www/

Code:
/var/www/index.html

Then if you are on the machine that is also the web server, go to http://127.0.0.1 to test the web page.

There is alot more to do in Apache but that should get you a static page.

Thanks, I got it working yesterday
Now I'm using a temporary free template that should look like this
but my server looks like this
Basically there are no images showing up, where do I put the images

also, how do I get it so I type in my domain to access over the internet and not my ip address

It says the images are not found, it throws a 404 error when trying to access them. Either the permissions are not setup correctly, the files don't exist or you have them in the wrong location.

Regarding the domain, unless you have a static IP address, you will need to get a domain that works with a dynamic IP address as yours could switch at any time. No-IP gives out free ones.

It says the images are not found, it throws a 404 error when trying to access them. Either the permissions are not setup correctly, the files don't exist or you have them in the wrong location.

Regarding the domain, unless you have a static IP address, you will need to get a domain that works with a dynamic IP address as yours could switch at any time. No-IP gives out free ones.

Where do the images go? I have the images but just can't find out where to put them