• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HD5850 issue - LOW fps..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

baris_

Hello,

I just started playing Crysis maxed out (8x MSAA as well) and seems to be low fps.. I realise Crysis will be hard so I'll settle for an average of 30 fps on Crysis.

But I was just playing Modern Warfare doing the second mission where you have to rescue that Russian guy, and at the start I noticed fps below 30.. It was roughly 25-26 at most times. This should be impossible on a card like this? My temperatures are below 60C. I game on 1440x900 so this shouldn't even be possible. Also moving sideways is eeeeeextremely jittery..

Fps measured by fraps.

Anyone have an idea? (I get about 50-60 fps at Dirt 2 maxed out..)

Overclock your processor. That res you are playing on is awfully low for a stock processor. I recall you being a bit stuck on your overclock, but I belive that would be part of the problem here.

Overclock your processor. That res you are playing on is awfully low for a stock processor. I recall you being a bit stuck on your overclock, but I belive that would be part of the problem here.

I can't understand that.. Seems so illogical that a lower res will have less fps.. I also had a 4850 a few months back. My fps then was 60+ at all times with the same settings..

Did your settings change from your 4850? Meaning did you pour on the AA with the new card as opposed to not with the 4850? I would say just run 4xAA across games and you should be OK.

The lower the res, the more hte CPU has to do to get the GPU data out. Thats why when you were looking for a card, we mentioned/inquired if you were planning on upgrading to a larger monitor. ;)