• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cogage Arrow vs Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme Rev. C???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PKgk1

Registered
I've narrowed down the best available CPU cooler for under 80 dollars to two options: the Cogage arrow and the Thermalright ultra 120 extreme rev. C.

Which one is better for, well, cooling? I want to be able to overclock as much as I can (I'd me more than satisfied getting the i7 930 from 2.8 to 4.0 but don't know if this cooling is adequate)

As I'm a newb when it comes to overclocking and cooling (I used to be fine with stock fans and heatsinks) I was wondering if there were any benchmarks you guys could link, or tell me the differences between the two, pros, cons, etc.

One thing I'm not so clear on is that the cogage arrow says it supports up to three fans (allowing you to add 2). Does the thermalright support this as well?

Could anyone link me the specific fans I'd have to buy to utilize the additional two fans the arrow supports if I end up buying it? I have about 30 more dollars left over in my build's budget so I don't mind buying a couple additional small fans.

Any help is greatly appreciated! :)

I'm using some cheapie 120x25mm fans that are rated at 2000 RPM but I'm also using fan control. To throw a wrench at ya, the Scyth Mugen2 Rev B performs very good as well and is only $40 at Performance-PC's (which is where I got my Arrow):

Scythe Mugen:

http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...=26935&zenid=2866e821f8cccfe61623f1962c2c33ae

Cogage Arrow:

http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...oduct_info&cPath=46_450_513&products_id=27217

Comes with one 120x25mm fan 4-pin, 2000 RPM (If memory serves).