Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

3DMark BenchMark major problem HD5870

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-11, 11:31 PM Thread Starter   #1
MattSharp
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Exclamation 3DMark BenchMark major problem HD5870


Hey guys, i'm in desperate need of help. I recently built a rig as a much needed upgrade (this isn't the first pc i have built). My specs are:

Crosshair IV Formula mobo
1100T Thuban AMD processor
Sapphire Radeon HD5870 graphics card
4gb ripjaw ram 1600mhz
60gb vertex 2 ssd
700w psu
Viewsonic 28inch monitor with 1900x1200 res.


So the problem is that i found that when i played ANY games, i would have a slight lag, enough to annoy me, and on black ops it was terrible. This just doesn't happen on the built that i have right? So i decided to get a benchmark so i know whats going on etc. My graphics score came to a shocking score of 1384, my physics score came to a very average 4947, my total score being 1746.

This just isn't right, my computer should be getting well over 10,000, shouldn't it? I have ALL of my drivers up to date, i even bought a program that checks and installs any that i don't have. Please can someone give me a heads up as to what i've done, could it be an error with connections or something? Thanks guys.
MattSharp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-11, 11:41 PM   #2
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
to OCForums!

What 3DMark software did you run, and at what settings?

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (97-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-11, 12:12 AM Thread Starter   #3
MattSharp
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Hey, thanks for the quick reply, i ran 3DMark 11, ( i am very inexperienced with this software ), and ran on extreme settings, it says X1535 as my score, is that honestly what i should be getting? thanks
MattSharp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-11, 12:31 AM   #4
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
Run the Performance setting, that's the standard for 3DMark software. It will make it easier to compare.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (97-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-11, 05:48 PM Thread Starter   #5
MattSharp
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Ok so i ran the performance test which only tests at 1280x720, and i got P4309, my graphics card got 4205, but shouldnt i be getting a better result than this anyway?
MattSharp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-11, 05:57 PM   #6
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
By comparing on 3DMark's website, it looks like you are right where you should be for a 1100T/HD5870 system.

Name:  Capture.JPG
Views: 71
Size:  26.9 KB

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (97-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-11, 05:57 PM   #7
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Compare your results with others at the orb with similar systems...

But that looks about right.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-11, 06:09 PM Thread Starter   #8
MattSharp
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2011

 
But my mate has a gtx275 and it performs better than mine, not with comparison on a benchmark, but in terms of lag. He can play crysis maxed out with mods and he doesnt lag, whereas i get lag if i try and use mods. In honesty then, is the graphics card i bought ? What do you think i need to upgrade so that i can play games without lag on maxed settings. I'm not a fanatic about fps, but i don't like to see lag when i've spent a fair amount of cash on my system ae. thanks
MattSharp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-11, 09:21 PM   #9
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattSharp View Post
But my mate has a gtx275 and it performs better than mine, not with comparison on a benchmark, but in terms of lag. He can play crysis maxed out with mods and he doesnt lag, whereas i get lag if i try and use mods. In honesty then, is the graphics card i bought ? What do you think i need to upgrade so that i can play games without lag on maxed settings. I'm not a fanatic about fps, but i don't like to see lag when i've spent a fair amount of cash on my system ae. thanks
Do you have a second graphics card (physx) on your system? Did you install the latest drivers? Did you mess around with the oc settings? How high does the temp go when you play games. Did you play around with the AA settings in CCC. I played around with it and made it 16x filtering and 8x AA highest quality and I noticed lag on nba 2k11 with my 6970.
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-11, 09:42 PM   #10
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
Since Crysis is one of the games that detects your graphics settings and then sets the performance settings, I bet that your settings are just too high. Try running at your resolution and set the lowest in-game graphics settings. If those play smoothly, raise the settings one level at a time until you can't play smoothly anymore. Then drop to the last level that worked.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-11, 01:57 AM   #11
Mikef1r3
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto

 
Can you just run fraps and see what FPS you are getting in game?

__________________
Case: Haf 932
MB : Asus P6T
CPU I7 920 D0 2.66 @ 3.5Ghz (21x167) at 1.2v
Cooling: Noctua Nh d14
RAM: Corsair Dominator 1600 6GB
GPU: 2x XFX 5770's
PSU: Corsair Hx1000w
SSD: 1 64 Gb G.Skill Falcon (OS/Programs)
HDD: 2x 500gb WD Black Raid0 (Games/Storage). 2 TB WD Green (Storage)
OS: Win 7 ultimate
Mikef1r3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?