• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First gaming PC in ages. Opinions?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pinomilks

Hi. The last time I played a proper PC game was back in 1998, but now I've decided to dive into it again and get some gaming going. I've been slaving away on the Xbox 360 for several years now, but for games like Rage, Skyrim and Deus Ex: HR, I figured I'd jump over to the PC again.

Anyway, here are the parts I'm planning to order. I don't need the PC to be cheaper than this, just wondering if there are any strange combinations going on here, or if there are any clear weaknesses to this setup. I need all the space for my lossless music collection. Also, how long do you figure it will last me? Couple of years or so? Opinions and suggestions welcome.

Oh, and I'm not going to overclock anything.

Intel Core i7-2600
16GB DDR3 SDRAM PC3-10600
Intel 510 series SSD 120GB (for the OS)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX580 1536MB
WD Caviar Black WD2002FAEX 2x2TB
H67 Express ATX Motherboard
750W Delta Electronics PSU
Pioneer BDR-206BK/WS Blu-ray
FILCO Majestouch 2
Razer Mamba 2012
Samsung SyncMaster B2230H
Win7 x64 Ultimate

Whats your budget?

Do you need all the components?

From where are you going to buy them ?

I live in Japan -- I'll just buy them at my local hardware store. Money isn't an issue. Just looking for a general opinion on the setup listed above. Anything I should think twice about? Any strange or dumb combinations? No overclocking.

For the PSU, it's a good idea to stay with Corsair and Seasonic.
For the proc, I recommend the 2600k, it's the unlocked, overclockable version. The 2600 has a locked multiplier.

for gaming the 2500 is just as good as the 2600, for $100 less. this being an overclocking forum, the-K series will always be recommended :)