• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I'm not good at building mid-range pcs! Help me build a gaming pc for $1000.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BugFreak

One of my son's friends is looking to build a new gaming pc for about $1000. I've built plenty of computers over the years but it seems I can't build what I would call a mid-range pc. So far I'm at about $1000 US without a GPU. Not sure if I am just too used to building for overclocking or what but I can't seem to get to $1000. Since I'm assuming I will end up actually building (and maintaining) this thing I prefer to stick to Intel and nVidia at Newegg if possible and want it to still perform and look decent. Amazon will work too I guess.

Here is my list that is heading way over budget. I'm trying for a 3060 for the GPU because he won't be going over 1080P @60hz. I realize GPU stock is an issue but trying to avoid that problem with other parts if possible. He does not need a screen or peripherals.

Intel I5 10600 $246
ASUS Prime X490-A $214
G-Skill 2x8G DDR4 3200 Cas 14 $119
WD Blue 1TB M.2 2280 SSD $114
Windows 10 Home $109
Corsair CX 750 $84
Fractal Meshify C Black $89
Thermalright Venomous X $Free (I'll donate to the cause)

I appreciate the help.

Save yourself about $100 by purchasing a volume or OEM key from here: https://www.urcdkey.com/. Build a generic USB installer with the Microsoft Media Creation tool. You might need to resort to phone activation.

Another cost saver is with the RAM. CL14 RAM is more expensive than CL16 RAM and with Intel CPUs it hardly makes any difference from a performance perspectivr.

Third, I would go for a better quality 650 watt PSU. That should be plenty for one video card and is a foundational component that you don't want to cheap out on. Look at EVGA gold units.