• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocked X6 1075 stress test

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Seig

Hi guys.

So I'm new to overclocking, this is the first cpu I've tried to overclock. Right Now I've got it clocked up to 3.82 Gz and it seems to be relatively stable. However, when I run prime95 on the small FFT test and it shoots up to 75 C in under about a minute, climbing steadily. That kind of temp spike made me nervous so I stopped the test. Is it normal for that kind of a temp spike when doing a stress test? It idles at about 30 to 35 and when under load from a game it ranges from 40 to 50 depending on the load, maybe it gets up to 55.

Thanks for any help.

Specs:

CPU Voltage: 1.432; stock ~ 1.32
CPU - NB Voltage: 1.38; stock ~1.3
NB Voltage - 1.2; stock ~ 1.1

No Aftermarket Cooler
NZXT Phantom case with no additional fans

X6 1075 @ 3.82
8GB 1663 Patriot RAM
Radeon HD 5850 1GB
MSI 870a Fuzion Motherboard (have heard this board is finecky when OCing)
650 Watt Thermaltake Power Supply
1 TB HDD

Hello and welcome to the forum :)

Prime95 will get your temps as high as they are ever likely to go and beyond, i think what your looking at there are the socket temps, and 75c is high, its to high.

You were right to be nervous and right to have stopped the test, you should not let your socket temps go over 62 or 65 at most, its not actually the socket temps that matter, your core temps are more important but if the socket gets to hot it could damage your motherboard, at this stage my advice is don't prime stress it with those settings.

whats more the AMD stock cooler is close to useless for overclocking.

We need to know more about your system before we can advise you more.