• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Phenom 2 x4 945 BSoD

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

atanil

Hi, this is my first time overclocking. I have CPU AMD Phenom 2 x4 945 3.0GHz, MB Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P and Noctua NH-U12P SE2.
I tried to increase FSB from 200 to 230 but after few minutes running Prime95 i get BSoD.
Core temperatures are under 50°C.
I left everything else on auto and it automaticaly reduced HT Link multiplier from 10x to 9x.
Do I have to change something else for it to be stable?

What are the current DRAM frequency, timings, and DRAM voltage at a HT ref clock of 230MHz, and what's the EXACT model including quantity of RAM installed?

Edit: ... and post the EXACT error in the BSOD.

Last edited:
Please download and install CPU-z. Then attach pics or screen captures of these three program interface tabs:

CPU

Memory

SPD

That will tell us tons of info about your hardware and your bios settings.

To attach a pic, click on Go Advanced at the bottom of any new post window. When the advanced post window appears, click on the paperclip icon at the top.

We don't recommend using the automatic overclocking genies in bios or the Windows-based overclocking programs. Using all manual adjustments is the way to go.

I played with it a little and changed FSB to 220, HT Multi manualy to 9x and decreased DRAM Frequency.
This is stable so far, but when i increase FSB to 230 I get BSoD immediately after starting stress test(I will get photo of BSoD tomorrow).
Core Temps are 50°C during stress test with FSB 220.
Do you think I can get it higher then 220?

Attachments

• OC.png
    OC.png
    44.5 KB · Views: 110
Probably/maybe if you relax the dram timings to 8, 8, 8, 22, 31 2T.
And bump the dram voltage up to 1.55V for a little added stability.