• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SSDs: Saving small files or changing directory?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Viper69

I save small files at times or I'm downloading PDFs at times via Firefox. The default directory is the Win7 downloads folder. These files either then get deleted at some point, or some of them get transferred to my HDD.

Should I change the default download directory to my HDD instead so I don't wear out my SSD?? I'm new to SSDs and I just unsure how how much reading/writing I should be doing on it.

Thanks

Unless you are writing thousands of gigabytes of data constantly, don't worry about it.

Reading doesn't wear a SSD.

Unless you are writing thousands of gigabytes of data constantly, don't worry about it.

Reading doesn't wear a SSD.

HAH..no, I'm not. I just wasn't sure how "delicate" these things are. The files are typically small from 1meg to maybe 20megs.

Unless you live in South Korea or Sweden or something I doubt your internet connection is fast enough do download enough data to wear out your SSD before you die of old age.

Downloading 20 meg files you are several orders of magnitude below what you need to be at to start worrying about wearing out your SSD. If you were writing a terabyte per day, then you'd really ought to start thinking about moving some things to a hard drive.

The amount of writes you do from file download probably only constitute a small percentage of the overall writes your system is doing to the SSD.

Unless you live in South Korea or Sweden or something I doubt your internet connection is fast enough do download enough data to wear out your SSD before you die of old age.