• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need reviewing of my PC build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Blehs

Registered
So with a bit of help from others, ive managed to put together this build. My budget was max 2000 and im currently at 1768 (but i think im missing the OS?).

I thought i should get this build reviewed in case im missing anything, or if there's any improvements i can make to the build (since im a complete noob at this). Im going to buy from umart since it has all the parts.

RAM: G SKill 8G(2x4G)DDR3 1866Mhz ($98)

HDD: Seagate SATA3 3TB 7200RPM Barracuda 64mb Cache ($133)

PSU: Antec NEO 520C ECO 80Plus Bronze certified PSU ($78)

Case: CoolerMaster NSE-300-KKN2 Black USB3.0 ($49)

Motherboard: ASRock B85M PRO4 ($85)

GPU: Gigabyte GTX 780 OC EDITION PCI-E 3.0 3GB 256-bit DDR5 ($629)

CPU: Intel Quad Core Xeon CPU E3-1230v3, LGA1150, 3.3GHz ($289)

SSD: Samsung 250GB SSD 840 EVO SATA III ($182)

Monitor: LG 24EA53V-P 24" IPS,1920x1080 ($215)

Note: Since i said i wanted an i7, someone suggested i go with the xeon because apparently it was identical to i7 but cheaper

Seems like you're headed in the right direction.

I would go with a Corsair 550-600 power supply (I think umart had them for not too much more).

For GPU, if price is the same (and it seems like it's similar), I would go with a 290X.

Are you going to be overclocking? The answer to that will tell lead to more of a discussion on your CPU and motherboard choice.

My initial question is why the Xeon? What benefits does that give you? Are you overclocking? If so you will need a different mobo and CPU...If not, that is fine, but.. make sure whatever board you use will actually support the Xeon CPU in the first place as not all do.