• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Pentium 4 overclocking question.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JRWYW

Registered
I'm thinking about getting a new P4 system. With a 2.4Ghz P4B Northwood and, the new Asus motherboard that has the 533MHz FSB and RDRAM.

However, I read that ALL consumer P4 CPUs have a locked clock multiplier...and that all over clocking has to be done through the FSB. Is this true?

If so, what about using the jumpers on the motherboard to change the multiplier?

If I can't change the multiplier, how high can I take the FSB without screwing up PCI and AGP?

I'm new to over clocking, and I'm trying to interpret everything I've learned so far. If I've made some sort of mistake please tell me. :)

You can't change the multiplier of the pentium IV even if you use the jumpers on the motherboard.You can only raise the FSB.For the cpu you are reporting can not overclock to high.600 FSB is hard to be achieved.You better take a pentium IV 1.6A which can go up to 2.7 ghz.

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS
The multiplier is in fact locked. The dividers for pci and agp are usually gonna keep a safe divider. I'm not sure on the P4T533C, but I have a P4T-E and the divider is good. As Yodums had in his signature a while back "FSB is everything people". Increasing the fsb also overclocks your RAM which is gonna give you more memory bandwith. I too wanna get the new Asus P4T533-C and a couple of sticks of PC1066.:D You should read the beginners guide on the main page.