• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED 990FX- UD7 vs Crosshair V

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bmwbaxter

So I am preparing for the release of Bull Dozer and was wondering which motherboard people would suggest UD7 or Crosshair V? This is my first time buying a highend AMD setup and want some advice. I am going to be using it for benching only. (might retired to become my daily rig someday :p ) I know both of these companys make good boards on the intel side, but what about on this side?

the $10-$15 price difference isn't an issue at all.

Looking and doing some research on both boards all I can say is that they both are extremely impressive. The Gigabyte does support quad graphics cards while the Asus only supports 3. Asus board has UEFI while the Gigabyte doesn't.

The thing is that this won't be Asus' best board. You are just looking at the Formula which is very good but they will release a Crosshair V Extreme down the road that will support 4 cards and have many more features.

On the basis of benching only, I think the Gigabyte board would be better because it supports more graphics cards and I believe it has more PCIe lanes (correct me if I'm wrong). You really just want to focus in on the power delivery and how much electricity it can pump into the CPU. I've heard on another forum with your same exact question that this guy had higher overclocks with the Gigabyte UD-5 board compared to the Crosshair V formula.

For benching go with the Gigabyte, if you want to use it as a daily board then I would go with the Asus board.

I would go with the ASUS. That's what I have on the way. Main reason is better bios support. Gigabyte has been severely lacking in the bios area. I dumped my P67 UD7 for the MIVE due to this.

I will be using the CHV for benching.