• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

*Also* New and First Water-Cooled Rig

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Alexanderrrrrr

Hey all,

Although I've built a number of machines over the years, I've never moved forward with much OC-ing or used any form of water-cooling. After a recent stint away from the PC-building hobby, I just recently took a dive back in (and an expensive one at that). I was hoping to get some advice on what/how/who/what/when/where I should set the cooling system up, or maybe help picking parts/a kit.

TL;DR Please help me I'm a dum newb.

==================

Here's my current setup (If anything comes highly recommended, I can replace just about any of this with a different part or more efficient part:

- Corsair Carbide Quiet 600Q Inverse ATX Full Tower Case
- Gigabyte LGA1151 Intel Z170 2-Way SLI ATX DDR4 Motherboards GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
- PNY - Anarchy 2-Pack 8GB PC4-19200 DDR4 DIMM Desktop Memory Kit - Blue (16GB)
- EVGA - 850 G2 - SuperNOVA Power Supply

The only two things that are not interchangeable:

- MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 GTX 1080 SEA HAWK EK X 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support ATX Video Card

- Intel Boxed Core I7-6700K 4.00 GHz 8M Processor Cache 4 LGA 1151 BX80662I76700K

==================

I've been discussing things with an EKWB representative, but only knew they existed because they created the waterblock for my GPU. I'm thinking I would like to do a custom loop, and I do not intend to do any crazy amount of overclocking. Something beginner-ish and fairly low maintenance would be great.