• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AsRock z77 Extreme 4 issue

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Person_0_0

Hi.

So a couple of days ago I upgraded my Gigabyte p75-d3 to an AsRock Z77 Extreme 4 (a used one of course) to overclock my i5 3570k and when I go in the bios in the OC tweaker tab and type a number past 38 in the CPU ratio option it just doesn't work, I type the number and it goes back to 38 and 38 is the max turbo boost for the i5 3570k, idk if that is supposed to happen or what as I'm new to overclocking, also I can't change the value of the intel turbo boost option it's like it is locked or something idk, also there's no XMP profile even though the manual says there is I don't know if that's supposed to show up according to the ram you have or what, if it helps I have an 8GB stick of Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1600MHz, I updated the bios to the latest version and still nothing changed, idk if the motherboard is broken and I should return it and get my money back or it's just something that needs adjusting.

Thanks in advance.

Specs:

CPU: Intel Core i5 3570K
CPU Cooler: FSP Windale 6
Mobo: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
GPU: Asus Cerberus GeForce GTX 1050Ti
Memory: Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL10
PSU: Gamma HEC-600TE-2WX (600W)
Case: Cooler Master RC-K380-KWN1

Welcome to OCF Person_0_0
XMP also relies on the RAM, the board needs an XMP profile to read from the RAM to set it up.
First lets get a couple things out of the way for OC
Did you set the OC mode to manual in BIOS? Typically there's a setting near the top of the tweaker page that will need to be changed for manual OC
Have you tried using the (+) and (-) keys instead of typing in the number?

Welcome to OCF Person_0_0
XMP also relies on the RAM, the board needs an XMP profile to read from the RAM to set it up.