• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus P8Z77-V PRO RAID Controller failure

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RSKadish

Hi all,

This is my first post on Overclockers and I'm hoping to get some advice. I have a problem with my ASUS P8-Z77-V-PRO motherboard.

I have been using it for a little over six months. I have a RAID 1 Volume on the Intel on-board controller.

A few days ago, the system froze. When I rebooted, it no longer recognized the RAID volume.

The Intel boot-time screen shows the volume and both drives as "Disabled."

It will not let me into the configuration utility when I press Ctrl-I.

In order to boot the system, I went into the BIOS and switched the SATA mode to AHCI, and booted off one hard drive.

Has my controller suffered a catastrophic failure?

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,
- Steve

Hi ATMInside,

Thanks for the response! Yes, both drives are seen in Windows now that I have changed to AHCI mode.

- Steve

If you can, back up the data you need externally, then attempt to recreate the RAID array from scratch.

If that doesn't work, I would RMA the board, as it does seem that the controller has "gone south".

If you would rather not RMA the board, Newegg has a great sale on RAID Controllers today.

Hi ATMInside,

Unfortunately, I can't even delete and re-create the volume, because the Intel boot-time utility won't let me in. When I press "Ctrl-I" nothing happens. (This was never a problem before.)

Best,
- Steve

If you can, back up the data you need externally, then attempt to recreate the RAID array from scratch.

If that doesn't work, I would RMA the board, as it does seem that the controller has "gone south".

If you would rather not RMA the board, Newegg has a great sale on RAID Controllers today.