• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus Sabertooth Z87 - 4770k CPU

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GodforSaken

Hello guys...

Im fairly new to this whole ocerlocking thing so bare with me on this :)

I got a new rig running specs see below please, with Asus Sabertooth Z87 and 4770k cpu running at stock 3.5ghz, i was wondering if i manage to overclock my CPU to lets say 4.0ghz would i feel any difference lets say in battlefield 3? or even at 4.4ghz, and if i do that is it true that my CPU life will drop?

this maybe a really stupid question but what edge will this overclocking give me overall? i see a lot of people are overclocking their 4770k's to 4.4 and even some at 4.6ghz but is this really worth if it will drop down the CPU life?

Many thanks in advance

My PC specs:

CPU Intel Core i7 4770K Haswell 3.5Ghz 8MB L3 Cache s1150
CPU Cooler Corsair Hydro H100i Liquid Extreme Performance CPU Cooler
Motherboards for Intel ASUS SABERTOOTH Z87 LGA1150, Intel Z87, DDR3
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 4x8GB DDR3 1600MHz 32GB
VGA Cards Asus GTX760 2GB GDDR5 DX11 2xDVI HDMI DP PCI-E
Solid-State Drives (SSD)Corsair Force LS CSSD-F240GBLS-BK 240GB SSD Sata
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum-Series Active
Case Corsair CC600TWM-WHT Graphite Special Edition White

You will need to buy another CPU before degredation takes it out at those clockspeeds.

As far as performance goes, it depends. You may not get a FPS increase in BF3, but other things games/applications you will. I don't recall any testing on 4770K at stock versus say 4.5Ghz on that game though.