• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a present, need advice and suggestions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nookuwn

Hi guys (heh just notice there's a few of these building rig thread, here's another)

Need some advice on building my brother a present. He was thinking of either getting a PS3 or a PC, but he forget that he mostly play strategy games and some home dvd making, so the PC is logical choice to me. He was saying PS3 is cheaper, but he doesn't know he need a HD LCD as well, which cost more than a PC.

The bro is married and poor :), so the siblings are pitching in to make this happen.

I first came to this forums in 2003 for help with an overheating problem rig, this is the same rig he's using today :). I was a noob then, now... i'm a little better than that :).

Anyhow here's the system I have in mind

1 x $67.08 Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB 8.9MS Hard Drive 3 Year Mfr Warranty

1x $49.68 Coolermaster CAC-T05 Centurion 5 Aluminum ATX Tower Case 5X5.25 1X3.5 4X3.5INT SILVER-BLACK No PS

1x $88.40 Intel Pentium Dual Core E2180 Dual Core Processor LGA775 2.0GHZ 800FSB 1MB Retail Box

1x $94.36 Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Atx LGA775 P35 1333FSB 1PCI-E16 3PCI-E1 3PCI SATA2 Sound Gblan Motherboard

1x 78.75 Ocz Platinum Xtc REV.2 PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-15 240PIN Dimm Dual Channel Memory Kit

1x $90.30 Corsair VX550W 550W ATX 12V 41A 24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 120MM Fan

1x $48.42 Thermalright ULTRA-120 Extreme 6 Heatpipe Cooler LGA775 Heatsink *Fan Not Included*

1x ~ $200 19"/20" WS LCD

1x $50 ATI X800XL Crossfire card

Total = $769
Grand total = $769x1.06 = $815.6

A few things...
- most of these come from one store, and everything in CND $.
- He already has the famous NEC 3550A. so no need for dvdRW.