• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CAr Audio Basics?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pcgamer4life

Alright, I just purchased a Memphis 16-ST250D amp (250 watts) for $50 from a friend of mine. I'm getting two 12in subs soon for $30 (very low end, but they'll do for my needs.) And I currently have an 8in sub right now that I want to use to test out my amp.

Basically, I'm a complete and utter newbie to car audio (cars, in fact.)

I don't have any wires, or anything. Just the amp and the sub. Tomorrow, given the weather is good, I want to attempt to hook up the amp and the sub. What do I need?

I have the amp, no wires, nothing. Just the amp.

I have an 8 inch sub that came from a surround sound system (120v... it had a 60w amp built into it, I cut the wires, so now I just have the sub with +/- (red/black) wires extending from it.)

What else do I need? To get it up and going?
I'd post pics of the amp, but my brother has my digital camera right now.

I think there may be a problem with the voltage because car electircity runs off a 12vdc battery. I also recently heard from my electricity teacher that you should put a 1 or 2 uf capacitor in parrelel with the amp. You'll of course need wires. Make sure they are very thick because a sub can suck 50+ amps at a time.

i was a complete noob at car stereos but i still managed to install a stereo in my car. it wasnt very hard given all i had to install were 4 speakers and a head unit. the only thing that took up alot of my time was fabricating mounts and routing wire. other than that, i suggest you go and search for some car audio forums like caraudio.com