• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Few questions before buying first build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Eliazer

Registered
Hi,

This computer is mainly for gaming and I want the option to overclock. Initially my budget was 1200 cad but as you see, I've gone over and there is still tax to be added. Do any of you have any suggestions of where I can save a bit without affecting performance much? If I end up spending over 1200, so be it.

I don't know much about the motherboard, it was suggested to me. Is it a good choice? I don't plan to use two gpus either and that seems to be a feature. All I know is that it doesn't have led lights or a reset button (?), will that be an issue for me given that it is my first build and I will be a bit out of my element?

Will the extra fan be enough for cooling if I overclock?

Finally, pcpartpicker says the parts are compatible. Does everything seem right to you?

Thanks a lot!

PCPartPicker part list: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/jY7sVn
Price breakdown by merchant: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/jY7sVn/by_merchant/

CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($249.04 @ TigerDirect Canada)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($23.98 @ Newegg Canada)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($154.99 @ Canada Computers)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($86.99 @ Memory Express)
Storage: Crucial MX100 256GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($116.99 @ Amazon Canada)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.95 @ Vuugo)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon R9 290 4GB Tri-X Video Card ($409.99 @ NCIX)
Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case ($54.95 @ DirectCanada)