• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First-Time "Dream" System - Advice Needed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vontech

Registered
I just received some money unexpectedly and wish to build the BEST, FASTEST multimedia system I can, within "reasonable" bounds. I "may" wish to overclock, but not necessarily. I'm much happier with a stable system than an unstable one, especially at about $2200 for all this stuff!

Most of my applications are CD Ripping, encoding, decoding, Photoshop, music server, etc. Also video editing. But I'm really aiming at speed and high quality. Overclocking is still something I'm a total novice at, but I'd like to learn.

I'd appreciate any advice you can offer, pro or con, on this system. In particular, am I overkilling with the PSU? I understand it's the best.

Also with this configuration and only the stock fan in the back of the P160, will I need additional cooling, and if so, what

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe motherboard
Intel Pentium 4/ 3.2C GHz 800MHz FSB
ZALMAN CNPS7000A-Cu Pure Copper CPU Cooler (with stock fan)
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) Registered DDR PC-3200 w/ Platinum-Silver Heat Spreader
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 510 ATX
Antec P-160 Case
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
ATI RADEON 9800PRO Video Card, 128MB DDR, 256-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP
2 - Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM SATA Hard Drive WD740GD
Plextor 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive, Model PX-PREMIUM/SW, Retail
Plextor 8X DVD-RW/+RW Drive, Model PX-708A/SW, Retail
Woet Tsern Internal 8-in-1 (Silver) Card Reader and USB 2.0 Drive Bay, Model ICR-A2 Silver color
Floppy Drive
Windows XP Professional

Also adding an existing WD 7200 250 gig hard disk.

So far, all I have ordered is the Asus motherboard. But I'm ready to order the rest.

Thanks for your help.