• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fluke 17B+ ... the multimeter I've always wanted? Thoughts wanted!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Hey folks... long time no see. I've recently started a new job, I'm now a repair technician servicing standby generators... The permanent ones outside homes and businesses... And so, I need a SOLID, accurate meter. Gonna be testing AC and DC voltages... low and high. Checking impedance of windings, continuity, you name it. Also plenty of more, and less advanced things @ home :cool:

I was going to buy a newer model Fluke 87... but those suckers are almost $500! :eek:

So... theres a cheapie that I found from my favorite youtuber, AvE (check this guy out, AWESOME content) Fluke's 12E... That is one, of several, cheap DMMs that are only available in the chinese market.

Last night, I ordered one of the higher end "china" units... the 17E+... Super excited, it arrives tomorrow from amazon... Mini review to follow :) Going to compare it to my friends 87 IIII

Full specs here!! (BTW, buttons and on screen text are in ENGLISH but the printed manual it ships with & box are CHINESE!) No problem, because these are pretty easy to use! and I'm sure English version is available on-line, but these meters are NOT sold in north america... That's why its sub $150 instead of $300+!

http://www.fluke.com/fluke/inen/dig...-purpose-multimeters/fluke-17b+.htm?pid=78682

Amazon link I got mine from...

SSEYL FLUKE 17B+ Digital Multimeter

F_17b_plus_dmm_01a_328x220.jpg

ALSO... thinking of getting a clamp - to - probe ... AC current clamp transducer thing...

$14 delivered to my door... fleabay: 161933671756

Has settings for 1mv or 10mv per amp... looks like dirt cheap junk, but i've read reviews saying it holds up along /w a decent DMM...