• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Help - computer won't boot

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ocs

Registered
Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to this, so any help would be greatly appreciated. I built this rig a few years ago and I haven't had any problems. Everything was working fine yesterday, but today I turned on my computer and it won't boot up. I get the following message:

Reboot and Select proper boot device
or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key

I have 3 hard drives:
HD // 2 Seagate Barracuda 500GB ES.2 7200 RPM SATA (RAID 0)
Model: ST3500320NS
HD2 // 1 Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.12 RPM SATA
Model: ST3500410AS

Bios:
Storage Information: Configure SATA as RAID
Boot device priority: 1st Boot device: RAID: ST3500410AS
2nd Boot device: disabled

Intel Matrix Storage Manager Option ROM utility:
RAID Volume:
ID: 0 Name: hd0 Level: RAID0(Stripe) Strip: 128KB Size: 931.5GB

Physical Disks:
Port: 1 Drive Model: ST3500410AS Serial#: 5VM0ADHS Size: 465.7GB
Type/Status: Non-RAID Disk

Port: 2 Drive Model: ST3500320NS Serial#: 9QM8E507 Size: 465.7GB
Type/Status: Member Disk(0)

On POST, it says no hard disk is detected

I really hope that one of my hard drives is not fried. I recently did a cleaning, but everything has been working fine in the couple of days since then.

Not really sure how to proceed. How can I determine if one of my hard drives is damaged? How can I tell which one is damaged? I'm trying to figure out where Windows is installed, but I'm not really sure.

Thanks a lot for your help!!!!

considering you just did a cleaning i would check all your sata connections as well.

Thanks for your replies!!!

I did just check all of the SATA connections. Sadly, that is not the issue