• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

highest FSB with athlon 1.4ghz?...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

slick316

hi,
newbie here, trying to get the most out of my system, so obviously trying to o/c.
the highest FSB i am able to get is 145Mhz, with a multiplier of 11, giving me 1595Mhz. whenever i try to go higher with the FSB, the system wont start(it will get past the boot/post screen, but i will get an error when the windows screen appears, and it wont load windows)
what? lower the multiplier you said, and then increase the FSB? tried that, still wont work, i had it at 146mhz FSB and multiplier at 5, still wont boot, whats wrong?

athlon 1.4ghz
shuttle ak31 v3
256mb kingston value ram (ddr pc2100)
cooler master HSF ($5 from newegg.com, keeps my cpu under 50C with full load non o/ced, at 1595Mhz, cpu goes to 55C under load)

i really dont want to do any pencil trick things, cause i know that i am a clutz and i might mess something up, is there something specail that i should do in the bios?

also, i got a new cooler master HSF from a friend(HHC-001 or something), its a copper HS, 7000RPM fan, has something called a heat pipe in it, i installed it replacing my old $5 HSF, and its worse! temps got upto 60C non o/ced, so i took it out. i am using arctic silver compound, and i noticed that it was getting good contact when i took it off, any ideas on this? i sanded the bottom smooth with 1000 grit sand paper, if all else fails, anyone want to buy a slightly used HSF?