• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to tune RAMs to have them more stable

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Neuroxerus

Hi everyone,

first of all, I am sorry if this question is stupid, but I am completely new at overclocking. I have 8GB kit (2x4GB) of Corsair Vengeance (CMZ4GX3M2A1600C9B). Recently I have got another two sticks from friend of mine - one stick is the same as I already have and another is single 8GB stick (also Corsair Vengeance - CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10B). Since I added those two I was able to run my OS quite stable, but when I play games they will crash after 15 minutes or so. I have tried MemTest64 and let it run during the night (around 8 hrs or so). I have got 1 pass and insane number of errors - see the picture.

I am aware that it is not recommended combining different RAMs and it would be best, if I had 4x4GB of CMZ4GX3M2A1600C9B. Anyway, I am curious, if there is something I can tweak which would helped me to have more stable memory without any problems when I play PC games. And if you have any tips for good overclocking guides (both RAM and CPU - mine is i7 2600K), I will be glad if you post some links.

Here is my system setup, since I believe it matters when it comes to overclocking:
Motherboard - P67A-UD4-B3 (0x0000029A - 0x54D4DE30)
CPU - i7 2600K
GPU - GeForce 970 GTX
RAM - 2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance (CMZ4GX3M2A1600C9B)

Thanks in advance for any helpful posts and replies.

Attachments

• MemTest64.jpg
    MemTest64.jpg
    404.4 KB · Views: 94
Beginner need help - combining 3x4GB + 8GB RAM

Greetings to everyone,