• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to Up FSB past 200mhz on A7N8X Deluxe?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DaveDave

I'm a noob at this so please bear with me. I've got a Athlon XP 2500+ barton on an Asus A7N8X Deluxe mobo Rev 2.0 with bios 1007. I've read and been told that I should be able to get the FSB past 200mhz, but in my bios I don't even have that option. All I can do in my bios is set the FSB to 100,133,166,or 200mhz. How do I ask it to run beyond that?

in your bios setting go advanced chipset features after go to system perfomance set it to user defened anknow go back to the menu of the fsb and all the range will be availbele up to 300 fsb
good luck

Careful messing with it past 200. I corrupted my BIOS (would no longer POST) trying 220. Worked with 210 and 215.

Thanks for the tip. Bios corruption seems to be a common theme in several threads. I'm currently at 200Mhz with my 2500+ Barton with stock voltage and I think that's where I'll stay with the processor.

Is there any risk with adjusting the memory timings though?

look, you shouldn't have bios corruption by overclocking, just bios shut down, all you have to do is clear cmos by moving the jumper, or removing the batter and unplugging computer

you should list all your components/settings in your signature, like me, so we can help you w/ your specific needs

this board will do all the fsb you can throw at it w/ a little help
for instance, a vcore volt mod is almost necessary on this board, very very easy to do, also, memory is an issue, especially w/ timing if you have corsair, but again can't help until you list your property

If you want to be stable over 210 with this board, you will need a good PSU, and along with a volt mod.